Skip to main content

2017-2018 Board of Trustees

(All biographical information is current for the time period in which trustees served.)


Jimmy D. Clark, Chair, Greensboro, NC (2012-2015)

Owner and President of Guy M. Turner, Inc. Former Chair of the NC State Board of Visitors. Member of the NC State Engineering Foundation Board, Dean’s Circle, Student Aid
Association, Alumni Association and the Walter Hines Page Society. Has served on the Park Scholarship’s Selection Committee. Established the Jimmy D. Clark Distinguished Professorship for the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering at NC State. Received his B.S. in Civil Engineering from NC State and is a registered Professional Engineer.

Robert “Chip” Andrews III, Raleigh, NC (2015-2019)

Former Chairman and CEO of FMI Corporation. Member of Poole College of Management’s Advisory Board and formerly served on the Board of Visitors, as chair of the Graduate School Board of Advisors, as founding member and president of the Gallery of Art & Design, as chair of Friends of the Gregg Museum and as a volunteer leader for the Campaign for NC State Students. Member of the Dabney Giving Society. BA in Economics from NC State.

Thomas E. Cabaniss, Second Vice Chair, Richmond, VA (2013-2017)

Managing Partner, McGuireWoods LLP. Former President and Honorary Lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association. Previously served on the NC State University Foundation Board of Directors. Founding member of the State Club Board of Directors. B.S. in Industrial Engineering from NC State, J.D. from University of Virginia.

Ann B. Goodnight, Secretary, Cary, NC (2015-2019)

Director, Community Relations, SAS Institute Inc. Founder and board member of Cary Academy. Member of the National Advisory Board for the William and Ida Friday Institute for Educational Innovation, Trustees Board of the YMCA of the Triangle, Board member of UNC Center for International Understanding and the Board of BEST NC (Business for Educational Success and Transformation). Previously served on the UNC Board of Governors, the NC State Board of Trustees, the NC State Board of Trustees of the Endowment Fund, Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee, CHASS Dean’s Advisory Board, Chancellor Search Committee, and Campaign for NC State Students. Recipient of the William C Friday Award in 2008, the Menscer Cup in 2007, and the CHASS Alumna of the Year award in 2000. Endowed multiple professorships as well as the Goodnight Scholars program, and is a member of the Holladay Giving Society. B.A. in Political Science in 1968 from NC State.

James A. “Jim” Harrell III, Raleigh, NC (2017-2021)

Partner in the law firm of Bode & Harrell, LLP, Harrell specializes in government affairs. Former member of the NC Rural Economic Development Center Board of Directors, the NC Outdoor Heritage Council, and the Appalachian State Board of Visitors. Previously served as a member of the NC House of Representatives. B.A. from Hampden-Sydney College and Juris Doctor from Emory University School of Law.

Stanhope A. Kelly, Second Vice Chair, Winston-Salem, NC (2015-2019)

Retired President of Carolina’s Community Banking and President of Wachovia Wealth Management. Currently serves on the Wells Fargo Advisory Board and is Vice Chair of the Winston Salem Foundation. Previously served on the NC State Foundation Board of Directors, the Alumni Association Board of Directors, the Park Scholars Selection Committee, and as Chair of the Poole College of Management Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee. 2005 Poole College of Management Alumnus of the Year and member of the Riddick Giving Society. BA in Business Management from NC State.

Wendell H. Murphy, formerly of Rose Hill, NC (2013-2017)

Chairman and CEO Emeritus Murphy Family Farms, Inc. Served in both the North Carolina Senate and North Carolina House of Representatives. Former chair of the NC State University Board of Trustees and former Chair of the university’s Endowment Board. Member of the Achieve! Campaign Steering and Executive Committee. Member of the Holladay Giving Society. B.S. in Education in 1960 from NC State.

David R. Nimocks III, Fayetteville, NC (2017-2021)

Founder and chairman of Ensystex, Inc. and former president of MSC, Inc. and Terminix. Member of the C.W. Dabney Lifetime Giving Society. Has given to the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Poole College of Management, NCSU Libraries, ARTS NC STATE. Established David R. Nimocks Jr. Fellowship in Indoor Urban Entomology in 1994. Previously served as manager or managing member for multiple businesses across North Carolina and Chairman of Ensystex businesses. Parent of two NC State alums. B.S. in Economics from NC State in 1976.

Dr. Ronald W. Prestage, Camden, SC (2013-2017)

President, Prestage Farms. Serves on the board of directors of National Pork Producers Council, the SC Chamber of Commerce, and the Black River Electric Cooperative. Former chair of the SC Poultry Federation Board of Directors, the National Turkey Federation, and the US Poultry and Egg Association. B.S in Animal Science from NC State, DVM from Auburn University, and completed equine Surgery internship at UC-Davis..

Susan Ward, Raleigh, NC (2011-2015)

Retired freelance artist and philanthropist. Former president of NC State College of Veterinary Medicine Foundation Board. Served as Vice President of ARTS NC State and Chair of the Development Committee for NCSU Friends of the Gallery. Developed a number of scholarships across disciplines of NC State. Recipient of the Watauga Medal, Menscer Cup, the Dean’s Award from the College of Veterinary Medicine, the Bowers Medal of Arts and the Wings on Wings Award from the College of Design. B.F.A from Western Carolina University.

Dewayne N. Washington, Wake Forest, NC (2015-2019)

Managing Partner, D. Washington Group LLC a construction and development company based out of Durham NC. Former member of the NC State Board of Visitors, NC State University Foundation Board, Alumni Association Board of Directors and Varsity Club. Established the Dewayne and Adama Washington Scholarship Endowment and the Washington’s Multipurpose Room Fund at NC State. Member of the Dabney Giving Society. BA in Interdisciplinary Studies from NC State. While at NC State, Washington was a member of the football team from 1990-1993; he was drafted in the first round by the Minnesota Vikings in 1994 and retired from the NFL with 12 years of service.

Edward I. “Ed” Weisiger Jr., Charlotte, NC (2017-2021)

President and CEO of CTE in Charlotte. Served as a member of the NC State University Engineering Foundation, the Student Aid Association Board of Directors, the W.H. Page Lifetime Giving Society and honorary lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association. Recipient of the ISE Distinguished Alumni Award. Established the Edward I. Weisiger Professorship in the area of construction engineering and management and Carolina Tractor & Equipment Co. Endowed scholarship with his father in 1997 to aid students from Western North Carolina enrolled in mechanical or civil engineering. B.S. in Industrial Engineering from NC State and M.B.A. from Harvard University Graduate School of Business.

Jacqueline Gonzalez, Lincolnton, NC (2017-2018)

Student Body President. Fourth year studying Political Science, B.A. Member of the University Scholars Program and Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society. Former chairperson of Student Media Board of Directors and Donor Development Department for the Krispy Kreme Challenge, a student-run non-profit organization at NC State.