Skip to main content

2011-2012 Board of Trustees

(All biographical information is current for the time period in which trustees served.)


Barbara H. Mulkey, Chair, Raleigh, NC

Chairman and Founder of Mulkey Engineers & Consultants. Member of the Board of Directors for the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology and Science. Former President and National Director for the American Council of Engineering Companies of North Carolina. Former member of the NC State Engineering Foundation and former Vice Chair of the Board of Visitors. B.S. and Master’s degrees in Civil Engineering from NC State.

Jack L. Cozort, Raleigh, NC

Counsel with the law firm Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice in its Raleigh Office, specializing in Government Relations, Regulatory Law and Appellate Litigation. Twelve-year veteran of the North Carolina Court of Appeals and former Director of the NC Administrative Office of the Courts. Counsel to Governor James B. Hunt from 1977 until 1985. Former Associate Attorney General in the NC Department of Justice and former Chairman of the NC State Board of Visitors. B.A. in Political Science from NC State in 1972.

S. Lawrence Davenport, Pactolus, NC

Past Chair, NC State Board of Trustees. President of J.P. Davenport and Son, Inc. Founding and current member of the Board of Visitors and recipient of the Watauga Medal. Member of the Alumni Association’s Board of Directors. B.S. in Agronomy from NC State in 1965.

Phil Freelon, Durham, NC

President of the Freelon Group, an architectural firm which offers specialized design expertise in museum/cultural center, higher education and science/technology facilities. Current member of the NC State Civil Engineering Advisory Board. Previously served on NC State’s Design Guild Board, Board of Visitors, College of Design Architecture Advisory Board and Design Foundation. Recipient of the Wings on Wings Award from the College of Design. Named 2002 College of Design Alumnus of the Year and one of the 100 most influential alumni in 2007. Bachelor’s of Environmental Design from NC State in 1975. Master of Architecture from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1977.

Benjamin P. Jenkins III, Managing, Charlotte, NC

Director and Vice Chairman for Retail Banking at Morgan Stanley & Co.’s New York firm; former Vice Chairman and President of the General Bank for Wachovia Corporation. Former member of NC State Board of Visitors, NC State Graduate School Advisory Board, co-chair of the College of Management’s Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee, and currently a member of the Riddick Lifetime Giving Society. B.S. in Textile Chemistry from NC State.

Gayle S. Lanier, Raleigh, NC

Vice President of Corporate Services for Progress Energy. Former Vice President and General Manager of Knowledge Services for Nortel Networks and current Trustee for the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology and Science. Director for the NC State Engineering Foundation and former member of the NC State Board of Visitors. B.S. in Industrial Engineering in 1982 from NC State.

Bob L. Mattocks II, New Bern, NC

Former Chairman and CEO of Jenkins Gas and Oil Company of New Bern, past chair of the Tryon Palace Commission, past president of the National Propane Gas Association and past Emergency Planning Chairman of NC Energy Policy Council. Serves on Swiss Bear Executive Committee overseeing award-winning revitalization of downtown historic New Bern. Past member of NC State’s Board of Visitors, NC State Wolfpack Club Board of Directors and NC State Education Foundation Executive Committee and Board of Directors. B.S. in Forest Management from NC State in 1959.

Dr. James W. “Jim” Owens, Peoria Heights, IL.

Chairman and CEO, of Caterpillar Inc. Recipient of NC State’s Watauga Medal, College of Management’s Alumnus of the Year 1999 and Person of the Year 2009, a lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association and member of the W.H. Page Lifetime Giving Society. Former featured speaker at the College of Management’s Wachovia Executive Lecture Series. BS and MS in Textile Technology, Ph.D. in Economics from NC State.

Randall C. “Randy” Ramsey, Beaufort, NC

Founder and President of Jarrett Bay Boatworks, Chairman of Jarrett Bay Yacht Sales, an authorized sales and service dealer for the industry’s most respected brands of sport fishing and motor yachts, and broker for exclusive pre-owned vessels. Member and Former President of the Big Rock Blue Marlin Tournament Board and member of the North Carolina Manufacturer’s Association. Vice President of the NC State Student Aid Association. Current member of the NC State Alumni Association, the State Club and the NC State Council on Athletics.

John Sall, Cary, NC

Co-founder and Executive Vice President of SAS Institute. Fellow of the American Statistical Association. Board Member of the NCSU Physical and Mathematical Sciences Foundation, Campaign Steering Committee, Nature Conservancy, Cary Academy, Advisory Commission for NC Museum of Natural Sciences. B.A. in History from Beloit College in Beloit, Wisconsin and master’s degree in Economics from Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Ill. Honorary doctorate from NC State in 2003.

E. Norris Tolson, Pinetops, NC

President and CEO of the N.C. Biotechnology Center. Former N.C. secretary of commerce, secretary of transportation and secretary of revenue. Member of the N.C. House of Representatives from 1994 to 1997. Served in E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company’s agricultural products. Member of the NC State Alumni Association Board of Directors, the NC State Board of Visitors and the CALS Alumni & Friends Advisory Board. Graduated from NC State with a bachelor’s degree in crop science and agribusiness.

Susan Ward, Raleigh, NC

Retired freelance artist and philanthropist. Former president of NC State College of Veterinary Medicine Foundation Board. Served as Vice President of ARTS NC State and Chair of the Development Committee for NCSU Friends of the Gallery. Developed a number of scholarships across disciplines of NC State. Recipient of the Watauga Medal, Menscer Cup, the Dean’s Award from the College of Veterinary Medicine, the Bowers Medal of Arts and the Wings on Wings Award from the College of Design. B.F.A from Western Carolina University.

Chandler E. Thompson, High Point, NC

Student Body President. Majoring in Economics with a minor in Political Science. Elected by the student body as the 2010 Leader of The Pack. Alumni Association Student Ambassador, Student Government Traditions Chair, Promoter of two projects, The Brick and “54 Things to Do at NC State” playing cards, and Kappa Delta Sorority Founding Member. Dean’s List student for 6 semesters.