Skip to main content

2014-2015 Board of Trustees

(All biographical information is current for the time period in which trustees served.)


Benjamin P. Jenkins III, Chair, Charlotte, NC (2009-2017)

Director and Vice Chairman for Retail Banking at Morgan Stanley & Co.’s New York firm; former Vice Chairman and President of the General Bank for Wachovia Corporation. Former member of NC State Board of Visitors, NC State Graduate School Advisory Board, co-chair of the College of Management’s Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee, and currently a member of the Riddick Lifetime Giving Society. B.S. in Textile Chemistry from NC State.

Thomas E. Cabaniss, Richmond, VA (2013-2017)

Managing Partner, McGuireWoods LLP. Former President and Honorary Lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association. Previously served on the NC State University Foundation Board of Directors. Founding member of the State Club Board of Directors. B.S. in Industrial Engineering from NC State, J.D. from University of Virginia.

Jimmy D. Clark, Second Vice Chair, Greensboro, NC (2012-2015)

Owner and President of Guy M. Turner, Inc. Former Chair of the NC State Board of Visitors. Member of the NC State Engineering Foundation Board, Dean’s Circle, Student Aid
Association, Alumni Association and the Walter Hines Page Society. Has served on the Park Scholarship’s Selection Committee. Established the Jimmy D. Clark Distinguished Professorship for the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering at NC State. Received his B.S. in Civil Engineering from NC State and is a registered Professional Engineer.

Gayle S. Lanier, Secretary, Raleigh, NC (2012-2015)

Vice President of Corporate Services for Progress Energy. Former Vice President and General Manager of Knowledge Services for Nortel Networks and current Trustee for the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology and Science. Director for the NC State Engineering Foundation and former member of the NC State Board of Visitors. B.S. in Industrial Engineering in 1982 from NC State.

Bob L. Mattocks II, New Bern, NC (2011-2015)

Former Chairman and CEO of Jenkins Gas and Oil Company of New Bern, past chair of the Tryon Palace Commission, past president of the National Propane Gas Association and past Emergency Planning Chairman of NC Energy Policy Council. Serves on Swiss Bear Executive Committee overseeing award-winning revitalization of downtown historic New Bern. Past member of NC State’s Board of Visitors, NC State Wolfpack Club Board of Directors and NC State Education Foundation Executive Committee and Board of Directors. B.S. in Forest Management from NC State in 1959.

Barbara H. Mulkey, Chair, Raleigh, NC (2007-2015)

Chairman and Founder of Mulkey Engineers & Consultants. Member of the Board of Directors for the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology and Science. Former President and National Director for the American Council of Engineering Companies of North Carolina. Former member of the NC State Engineering Foundation and former Vice Chair of the Board of Visitors. B.S. and Master’s degrees in Civil Engineering from NC State.

Wendell H. Murphy, formerly of Rose Hill, NC (2013-2017)

Chairman and CEO Emeritus Murphy Family Farms, Inc. Served in both the North Carolina Senate and North Carolina House of Representatives. Former chair of the NC State University Board of Trustees and former Chair of the university’s Endowment Board. Member of the Achieve! Campaign Steering and Executive Committee. B.S. in Education in 1960 from NC State.

Dr. James W. “Jim” Owens, First Vice Chair, Peoria Heights, IL (2009-2017)

Chairman and CEO, of Caterpillar Inc. Recipient of NC State’s Watauga Medal, College of Management’s Alumnus of the Year 1999 and Person of the Year 2009, a lifetime member of the NC State Alumni Association and member of the W.H. Page Lifetime Giving Society. Former featured speaker at the College of Management’s Wachovia Executive Lecture Series. BS and MS in Textile Technology, Ph.D. in Economics from NC State.

Dr. Ronald W. Prestage, Camden, SC (2013-2017)

President, Prestage Farms. Serves on the board of directors of National Pork Producers Council, the SC Chamber of Commerce, and the Black River Electric Cooperative. Former chair of the SC Poultry Federation Board of Directors, the National Turkey Federation, and the US Poultry and Egg Association. B.S in Animal Science from NC State, DVM from Auburn University, and completed equine Surgery internship at UC-Davis..

Randall C. “Randy” Ramsey, Beaufort, NC (2009-2017)

Founder and President of Jarrett Bay Boatworks, Chairman of Jarrett Bay Yacht Sales, an authorized sales and service dealer for the industry’s most respected brands of sport fishing and motor yachts, and broker for exclusive pre-owned vessels. Member and Former President of the Big Rock Blue Marlin Tournament Board and member of the North Carolina Manufacturer’s Association. Vice President of the NC State Student Aid Association. Current member of the NC State Alumni Association, the State Club and the NC State Council on Athletics.

John Sall, Cary, NC (2007-2015)

Co-founder and Executive Vice President of SAS Institute. Fellow of the American Statistical Association. Board Member of the NCSU Physical and Mathematical Sciences Foundation, Campaign Steering Committee, Nature Conservancy, Cary Academy, Advisory Commission for NC Museum of Natural Sciences. B.A. in History from Beloit College in Beloit, Wisconsin and master’s degree in Economics from Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Ill. Honorary doctorate from NC State in 2003.

Susan Ward, Raleigh, NC (2011-2015)

Retired freelance artist and philanthropist. Former president of NC State College of Veterinary Medicine Foundation Board. Served as Vice President of ARTS NC State and Chair of the Development Committee for NCSU Friends of the Gallery. Developed a number of scholarships across disciplines of NC State. Recipient of the Watauga Medal, Menscer Cup, the Dean’s Award from the College of Veterinary Medicine, the Bowers Medal of Arts and the Wings on Wings Award from the College of Design. B.F.A from Western Carolina University.

Russell W. Mau, Cullowhee, NC (2014-2015)

Student Body President. Masters of Economics candidate. Park Scholar and NC State alumnus. Recipient of the 2014 Matthews Medal. Elected by student body as the 2012 Leader of the Pack. Former Chancellor’s Aide, Congressional Intern, Krispy Kreme Challenge Co-Chair, and member of the NC State Women’s Basketball Practice Team. Member of Phi Delta Theta Fraternity and Phi Beta Kappa.