Rajendra K. Pachauri

Commencement Speaker/Honorary Doctor of Sciences Degree

Rajendra K. Pachauri has been the Chief Executive of TERI, The Energy and Resources Institute, since 1982, designated initially as Director and since April 2001 as Director-General. He also serves as Chancellor of TERI University.  Dr. Pachauri has been active in several international forums dealing with the subject of climate change and its policy dimensions.  In April 2002, he was elected as Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), established by the World Meteorological Organization and the United Nations Environment Programme. In 2007, Dr. Pachauri and his IPCC colleagues, along with former Vice President Al Gore, were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.  His wide-ranging expertise has resulted in his membership on several international and national boards and committees, including the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India, the Advisory Board on Energy (ABE) which reported directly to the Prime Minister of India, the Advisory Board for the Clinton Climate Initiative, the International Advisory Board for Toyota Motor Corporation and several others. He has been President (1988) and Chairman (1989-90) of the International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE).  Since 1992, he has been President of the Asian Energy Institute.  In April 1999, he was appointed member of the Board of Directors of the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (Japan) and continues to hold this appointment. Dr. Pachauri was awarded the “Padma Bhushan” in 2001 by the President of India, and he also was bestowed the “Officier De La L├ęgion D’Honneur” by the Government of France in 2006. He was conferred with the “Padma Vibhushan,” the second highest civilian award in India, for his services in the field of science and engineering by the President of India, and in 2009, he was appointed the first Director of the Yale Climate and Energy Institute.  Dr. Pachauri has a M.S. and Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering as well as Economics, all from NC State University.